Arruda Group

Soft Tissue and Polymer Mechanics Lab


The Arruda lab group focuses on two main categories: soft tissue biomechanics, and polymer mechanics. We strive to understand and characterize the mechanical properties of a wide variety of biological tissue and soft matter through experimental and computational techniques. Our latest applications include lattices and topological structures for impact mitigation. 

Meet the students that compose both the soft tissue biomechanics and polymer mechanics groups

Ellen Arruda is the primary investigator of the lab group. Learn more about her in her section.

Learn about the research projects being performed by the lab group